Wyoming adds one senator and two house members

The Wyoming House and Senate reached agreement on a new redistricting plan late Friday night allowing the legislative session to come to an end. While both sides passed it easily, there were still some concerns. It adds one Senator and two Representatives to the total number of legislators, so there will be 31 Senators and 62 Representatives.

The final map is slightly above deviation in Sheridan County, which is the ratio of residents to legislative districts. That’s because of a decision to pull the towns of Arvada and Clearmont out of Campbell County and connect them with a House District which is mainly in Johnson County. This was the preference of the townspeople. Meanwhile, House District #20 as passed will encompass all of Sublette County and the La Barge school district boundary in Lincoln County.

The Senate version would have had Sublette County share part of Teton County to form House District #20, thus fracturing Sublette County. The bill goes to the governor for his consideration.

Previous Story

Wyoming budget session ends

Next Story

Jackson Wyoming Post Office debuts new stamp

Latest from Blog

withemes on instagram

This error message is only visible to WordPress admins

Error: No connected account.

Please go to the Instagram Feed settings page to connect an account.